Guiding consumers since 2009

#FireZumaMarch takes Cape Town

By Danielle van Wyk

The streets of Cape Town city centre were alight with protest earlier today as various political parties marched in the lead up to the secret ballot vote, held today.

WATCH: What will be the outcome of the vote of no confidence?

The march, which began at Keizergracht lot and ended at Parliament was spearheaded by various big name opposition parties, namely the Democratic Alliance (DA), Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF), Congress of the People (COPE), the African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP), United Democratic Movement (UDM), Freedom Front, African People’s Convention (APC), Agang SA and the African Independence Congress (AIC).

Also in attendance were civil society movements like Save SA, Zuma Must Fall, The Organisation Against Tax Abuse (OUTA) and the Freedom Movement.

Members of Parliament (MP’s) from the present political parties were seen addressing the crowd moments before they went into the House to cast their vote.

“President Jacob Zuma is turning our country into a banana republic, looting and pillaging the resources of the country for a very cheap plate of curry, “added the general secretary of the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU) Zwelinzima Vavi, in his reference to Zuma’s relationship with the Gupta family.

EFF leader, Julius Malema, also rallied the crowd’s attention as he stated: “We thank you for coming and putting your differences aside. We promise to do everything in our power to address him and make sure he goes.”

The proceedings were concluded with DA leader Mmusi Maimane’s speech that got the crowd of a few thousand to their feet.

“We know you have travelled from far and near to bring the message that ‘Zuma Must Go’. Today no matter what you are we are united behind that message. We all deserve a better South Africa, “remarked Maimane.

Maimane, Malema, EFF’s Mbuyiseni Ndlozi and others were seen singing and holding hands pre-vote, as crowds cheered and joined in the singing.

The results of the vote have yet to be released.

WATCH: Financial implications of a successful vote of no confidence 

Recent Articles

Featured Get personal with your finances – and tie the knot

As time passes, your financial products may not live up to your needs. Therefore, it’s important to take stock of what you’re paying for and adjust where necessary. We got in touch with financial advisers to find out how you can get your finances in order, and what you should do to ensure you’re financially stable.

Personal loan or business loan? The best way to finance your business

When starting your own business, you may have to rely on external funding. Perhaps you qualify for a personal loan, but would it be better to take out a business loan instead? We got in touch with a specialist to find out whether it’s best to take out a business loan or a personal loan to assist you with your ongoing business or start-up.

What to do when you’ve been denied a home loan

After months of scanning property sites and attending showhouse after showhouse, you’ve finally found what you’ve been looking for. But your dream of owning a home comes crumbling down when you receive the news that you’ve been denied a home loan. So, what now?

Best travel cards offered by top South African banks

Planning a trip abroad involves a lot of administration. You need to consider travelling arrangements, reasonable accommodation, and a daily itinerary. But have you considered how you’re going to pay your bills once you arrive? Besides considering bank costs, you also need to consider exchange rates.


Takealot January Big Sale

Price: Available on request
When: Until 31 January 2020
Where: Online

Annique Restore Package Special

Price: From R600
When: Until 31 January 2020
Where: Centurion

Ster-Kinekor Senior Citizens Discount

Price: Available on request
When: Daily
Where: Nationwide